top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

Week 5 Resources

In this week, students will begin to look at an additional work, Dawn Mantras - Ross Edwards.


I have followed a similar approach with Rush and first created a mindmap to decide what to focus on and how I could relate it to Rush to essentially support the analysis.

I also printed out the score and did a thorough analysis on the score. In comparison to Rush, this work seems to be more simple to analyse so I believe that students can perform the same activity in class.



The performer and composer notes that are at the beginning of the score is a useful resource itself. It tells students some context of the piece, the lyrics and its meaning and which instruments (as it uses a few uncommon instruments)



For the performance aspect of this week, the students will sing the 'Children's Choir' of this work. I have notated this section out. There is a high A and I am aware that students will most likely not be able to sing this note so they are welcome to sing down the octave.

As well as singing this section, students will identify and name the chords.





1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fin!

bottom of page