top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

Last Minute Resource

As I mentioned in my previous blog post, I was in the process of editing my unit of work alongside my resource.

Then came along Week 2, Lesson 2: Hocketing.

I was double checking the video to make sure it was appropriate content for students and one of the examples that Adam Neely (the author of the video) gives is Pentatonix's Daft Punk. This work is a medley of Daft Punk songs but the excerpt he showed was an acappella arrangement of Harder Better Faster. (please note, this as not my first time watching this video, this idea had just not come across me)

When I heard this example, I thought it would be a really good opportunity for students to perform hocketing; not to mention, there wasn't a performance activity in this lesson. So its 3pm, the assignment is due at 11:59pm and I'm planning to make another resource.


Just for reference, the video resource I am referring to is:



And this is Daft Punk - Pentatonix. The excerpt I am referring to is from 2:26 - 2:55.



Using the original Daft Punk version of Harder Better Faster and the Pentatonix arrangment, I have transcribed the follow:







It clearly demonstrates hocketing and students are able to perform and experince it. My only dilemma is that because of the hocketing, it can be quite difficult for students to get the correct pitch especially if students are not experienced or confident singers. My solution to this is to transcribe a unison section previous to this hocketing section to students will get the chance to sing and learn (if they don't know this song) the full melody.




Oh! I also decided to make an instrumental arrangement so students can choose which arrangement to learn. Both vocal and instrument arrangements are of similar length and both clearly demonstrate hocketing. The instrumental arrangement can also be beneficial as all the students play different instruments so different tone colours will also add to the hocketing section.


In the instrumental version, I have also added a little snazzy funky melody with a syncopated accompaniment just to spice things up and create a little more interest.


The full transcription of the vocal and instrumental arrangement can be found here (Under Lesson 2)

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fin!

bottom of page