top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

Week 2 Composition Resource

One of my homework tasks was to ask students to compose a short melodic theme (no longer than 4 bars). Then the students learnt about thematic alteration.

Do you see where I am going with this?


I want to create a scaffold composition and I am using Jim Coyle's (hi Jim!) Powerhouse Composition Resource as a basis. In his resource, he includes:

  • a planning scaffold (a grid with bar number and instruments)

  • a set of 13 ideas (both melodic and rhythmic)

  • blank Sibelius score (with the instruments)

I am using this idea for my composition resource. The only things I am changing are:

  • The number and which instruments

  • Instead of providing a set of ideas, students will have to compose their own based of their short melodic theme. (composition in a composition, comp-ception?)







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fin!

bottom of page