top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

Week 1 and 2 Resources

By the way, my focus work is now Rush again. It's sticking this time.


My process for developing my resources was by putting myself into students shoes.

When introducing such a big work to students, I want to take small steps to ensure that they understand all the concepts.


WEEK 1:

One of my first tasks is to have students create a visual mindmap based on a first impressions hearing. I created one myself which helped me build the foundations of what I wanted to emphasise and explore when teaching this work.





I also read Hindson's thesis where he talks briefly about composing Rush.

He states that the introduction was inspired by The First Circle - Pat Metheny. I had never heard this work before but when I played it for the first time, I immediately notices the similarities. To break this down to students, I notated the rhythmic pattern and showed the division of rhythmic cells. I find this very straight forward and there should be no confusion.



On WiX (if you want to get fancy) there are slides or picture galleries that you can add. I like these interactive features as it saves space so students are constantly scrolling up and down.

I used the same interactive features for demonstrating phasing as well.


Whilst analysing the introduction of Rush (to be honest, I was a little stumped for a bit) but once I notated the individual lines out, I noticed a pattern.



To me, this pattern reminded me a lot of Steve Reich's Clapping Music.

I feel that this video is a very clear way to demonstrate this work and what phasing is.



I will have the students clap and perform this work (without so many repetitions of each shift) and I will also ensure that students swap groups so they get the chance to perform the second part.


I am using Audacity to cut out snippets from workings and using Sibelius (exporting PDF) to notate some short excerpts.



WEEK 2:

In terms of creating resources, at the moment, there isn't anything 'new' in terms of different methods of creating resources.

I have:

  • Notated examples of thematic alterations and combined them in a slide show

  • Using online video scores (if available)

  • A mixture between video definitions and written definitions (I personally prefer video definitions - I feel that it is more interactive with students. However, many videos only contain a short clip of 'useful' information so I have to be critical with which videos I decide to use as a resource.) In saying that, I do like this video that explains what a hocket is (which is a main focus for this week)







3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fin!

bottom of page