top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

Aural Skills

Part of UoW is including an activity that practises students aural skills each lesson. The students will alternate between sight singing and dictation.


For dictation, I have research and listened to many pieces to find some good examples for students to dictate. Following on from that, I have notated a scaffold for each dictation that involves the starting note, rhythm and some odd notes here and there. Using Audacity, I have cut out the excerpt from the full score in which the dictation is from.

Works that I have taken from are:

  • Rush - Matthew Hindson

  • Symphony No. 40 in G Minor, K550. Movement I: Molto Allegro - Mozart

  • Theme from Schindler's List - John Williams .

  • Swan Lake Op. 20 Introduction: Moderato assai - Allegro non troppo - Tempo I  - Tchaikovsky

  • String Quartet No. 62 in C Major, Op. 76, No. 3 "Emperor." Movement II: Poco adagio; cantabile - Haydn

  • Jupiter, the Bringer of Jollity from The Planets - Holst

  • Sweet Georgia Mind - Ben Bernie, Maceo Pinkard arr. Earl Hines and His Orchestra

  • Requiem in D Minor K626 III. Tuba Mirum - Mozart

I have tried to throw some odd works in there such as sweet Georgia Mind and Mozart's Requiem.



For Sight Singing, I have taken from then Jim Coyle's Sight Singing Exercises. I have chosen 8 exercises (half major, half minor) and made sure sure to include both the treble and bass clef.


On each lesson of the week to week lesson resources, I have clearly stated which aural skills task the students should complete.





2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Fin!

bottom of page