top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #8: Continuation


I have composed quite a bit following on from the opening and first section material. For all the full draft scores, please refer to here!


[DRAFT 1]

I have added very few bass notes to my opening section after the introduction. I have done so just so it isn't all top register and also to give a sense of direction and hint at what is coming.

Following on, as I have previously discussed that I wanted some interaction with the bass and top melody line. From bars 32 - 48, I have repeated the exact same material from before but added in a bass line. This adds a new depth and new sense of drama? (still thinking of the 'orange' colour and what it presents). I really like the coming of this bass line and what it adds to my composition. Take a look!



I feel that it also adds a very gradual (remembering flow!) build to the composition.


Moving on, I did want to compose an 'aleatoric inspired' section. So not completely composed by chance BUT the idea is there. What I have done is taken small sections from what I have composed already and arranged it quite randomly. This is based off the extension task in my "Baby Steps".


This 'aleatoric' section is divided into two 8-bar phrases separated by a octave chord in the bass and a single notes in the melody (bars 49, 58). The reason why I have done two phrases is because I wanted the second phrase to be 'less' ie less texture, less notes, less movement. The thought behind this is again a gradual flow to the ending which is a repeat of the opening chords. If you have a look at this aleatoric section, it is made up of previously composed material. Here is an example:


This is just the first line of this section but the same idea and process is applied to this whole section. In some cases, note all the voices are there or some notes are taken out to create some variation and differences.

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page