top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #7: Beginnings


Ahhhh here comes the dilemma of how to open or begin my composition.

I have a few general ideas in which I will experiment with:

  • "Blue" - I want it to flow into the piece and then flow into what I have previously composed. I want space, time and breathe - nothing to feel rushed.

  • Chords? Either together or arpeggiated

  • Long chords (that way, if I want to, I can rhythmically diminish them)

  • Soft dynamics, again to contribute to the flow

  • Slow

  • Not tonal? - still based around the same pentatonic scale


I composed an octave as the first chord in a very low register to imitate that slow flow and entrance into the piece. I've also held it across two bars to emphasis that feeling. I don't want it to be rushed.


Rhythmic diminution. If the tempo is taken slowly, these dotted crotchet chords will still not sound rushed which is what I want. I have chosen to keep this chords unrolled (not arpeggiated) as I feel that it will be too much especially because I want a smooth transition following on from the dotted minims and I still want there to be space in between each chord. If I roll these chords, there wouldn't be much of a break between the chords unless they were rolled quickly, which again - I do not want.



Again same repeated chords BUT I have chosen to roll these chords as they are dotted minims. It in a sense is again rhythmic diminution as the notes are being played slightly faster. I think the transition between these three blocks does flow which is the effect that I want it to have.




All together! I have added an extra D in bar 4 to somewhat hint at what is coming next. I have also added an accelerando in the last 3 bars to smoothly lead into the semiquaver harmonic pattern that was previously composed.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page