top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #6: Melody + Rhythmic Alteration

Now that I have an idea of where I want the harmony to be going, I have composed short melodic phrases to be on top of that harmonic line.


Using my "Baby Steps" model as a guide, I want to repeat this same melodic line but rhythmically alter it (in this case, diminution)


Now, as I use these two ideas, which for me, remind me of 'orange' on top of the flow of 'blue,' I have come up with this


I quite like the sound of this and I want to use a similar process over the remainder of the harmony.

Using the ideas that I have composed above, with some addition new short melodic phrase ideas, this is the draft.


Bars 2 - 7: What I have composed as above by creating a short melodic phrase and then repeating it but with a rhythmic diminution.

Bars 8-11: New Idea (separate)

Bars 12 - 14: A new short 4 note melodic phrase

Bars 15 - 16: Rhythmic diminution of this new phrase

Bars 18-19: Repetition of bars 6 - 7

The harmony of bars 15-19 is a repetition of bars 10 -14.


I have essentially created very short melodic material and used the step from my "Baby Steps" model to create repeated melodic material with a rhythmic alteration. A sense of repetition is avoided even the same melody notes are used as the harmony that is under it is different when it is being repeated.


From here, I need to:

Compose an opening that will smoothly link to think

Either continue with this idea OR create a new section that follows on from here (but still similarly related)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page