top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #5: Writing


After taking into consideration all my original ideas, my consultation and my "Baby Steps" model, I have somewhat combined it all to start writing one composition (rather than too many separate ideas)


Based on my original chord progression, I have created a new pattern for harmony as an accompaniment. For me, it reminds me of 'blue' and really brings out the flow and calmness it presents. So far, I am planning for this harmony to be in the middle register (played by the right hand) whilst the melody with my interactions of the bass and higher register (played by the left hand, so it will be jumping a bit. I have seen this done in numerous harp pieces before.)



As you can see, this harmony is written in a pentatonic scale (scale with 5 notes). I like how it limits the choices I have and also the harmonies it brings.



My thought process after this is to gradually bring in the melody, perhaps only in the higher register first before including some interactions with some bass notes (somewhat showcasing the 'orange.'

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page