top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #4: Link to "Baby Steps" model.

Updated: Nov 20, 2018


To find my "Baby Steps" model for Bree Van Reyk's Light for the First Time, click here!


As part of our original composition assignment task, we are to use the model that we have created and developed to aid in that process.

A few things that I think I will take from my model:

  • Idea of colour and contrast in colour

  • Rhythmic alteration e.g. diminution and augmentation

  • Aleatoric composing


How will I use these steps in my composition?


Colour:

I personally think that a single colour can create and inspire emotion that can then be shown in an original composition. I quite like the idea of 'blue' and the emotions of calmness, flow. I think this can be contrasted well with 'orange' which for me inspires more joy and even a little bit of drama.

How can I showcase these emotions in an solo harp composition?

Blue

  • Gradual dynamics

  • A flow of constant arpeggios

  • Long notes/chords

  • Melody line 'flow'

  • Extended harp techniques: glissando, arpeggiated chords (slow), harmonics (middle register)

Orange

  • Melody in the higher register interacting with some bass (drama?)

  • Extended techniques: arpeggiated chords (fast), p.d.l.t. (pres de la table: to play near the soundboard) - it creates a more 'nasal like' timbre which does not vibrate as long as a normal note would


Rhythm:

This one is pretty self explanatory but using ideas that are already in the composition and then altering the rhythm of the same ideas either through diminution or augmentation. There is a simple worksheet that shows how this can be done in my "Baby Steps" model. These 'new' ideas are then used in the composition.


Aleatoric Composing:

Composing by chance. I like the idea of this method of composing but I am unsure how I will use it. I think I would write a small section out using this method but then slightly alter it here and there to suit the piece? (but does this then ignore the point of aleatoric composing???)


Next step:

Developing my already composed ideas

Composing new ideas

Using my model and solutions (stated above)

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page