top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #3: Consultation

Updated: Nov 20, 2018

I had my one-on-one consultation about my original composition with Jim today and a few key points were made that I will definitely take into consideration.


Instrumentation:

  • Jim suggested that I compose for harp instead as that is my major instrument. Composing for harp does allow me to use quite a few different extended techniques that I am very familiar with. Alongside, I definitely do know how to write for harp ie. what would work, what wouldnt, if it were playable etc.

  • Possibly, combining the harp with another instrument? Leaning towards wind? I was thinking clarinet or bassoon but I will need to see what instruments the students in my cohort play to allow for easier recording. Flute was an option but in my opinion, it has been done too much and in general, I am not that interested.


Ideas:

  • He quite liked the ideas and chord progression that I had in my ideas. However, I'm not sure if it sounds 'too classical,' so I will experiment around what I have written and see how it goes!

  • I also want the melody line to be in the middle voice/register rather than the top OR a mix between top and bottom register interacting with one another.


After this consultation, I definitely think I will change my instrumentation. I will start writing for solo harp and then decide if it is necessary to add another instrument. I will also use the model I have created for Light for the First Time to help me create and develop ideas.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page