top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #2: Ideas

Updated: Nov 20, 2018

I've briefly come up with a few ideas below and will discuss about their purpose, inspiration/thought behind each one and how I plan to utilise it in my original composition!


Idea #1:


Each line or phrase is a new idea/development based around the same chordal movement. Although I was planning to write my composition in a mode or even a pentatonic scale, I can still adjust this movement around that. I am also trying to simplify my ideas as I tend to 'crowd' my compositions with too much which then leaves something without a sense of unity.


Idea #2:


I attempted combining some of the ideas from (#1) together with a string quartet instrumentation to hear how it sounds. I am unsure of this as it already does sound too 'crowded' (but this could be due to the fact that I am listening to this through MuseScore). I will present this to my one-on-one consultation with Jim to see what he has to say about it. I will have more of an idea when my "Baby Steps" model is complete so I can adapt/use these ideas to the steps I've created.


Idea #3:


The thought process behind this idea was the staggered entries of the instruments as well as the contrast between a more tonal A chord and an atonal chord (G#, B, D, F#). Where I will take this idea, I'm not too sure yet but I quite like the sound of it!


Now that I have the ball rolling for this composition, I'm excited to see where it leads off too!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page