top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #12: Drafting, Editing, Developing (Cont.)


Please refer to Draft 3 found here!


Two changes today:

I scrapped the first three bars from Bar 9 in the previous draft and changed it to a repetition of the new harmonic line. It just made more sense to introduce this new harmonic line instead of having a constant change per bar. The first two bars are repeated with no melody in the high or low register before it is introduced in the third bar which leads nicely to the body of the section.



I then realised today that I had to change my 'aleatoric' inspired section as that was based on the old material. I like how I took that material from what was previously composed and used the same process to create a new 'aleatoric' inspired section. It is much shorter, only being 8 bars in length. However, it is somewhat divided in half as the first 4 bars have more whilst the following 4 is less, with more notes being taken out and has more silence and breaks. It is subtle but it is there which is the effect that I essentially want it to have.




To connect this part to the ending, I have repeated the ascending and descending arpeggio pattern that was previously repeated. This single line again gives that effect of becoming 'less.'

FOR NEXT TIME: add a rit to emphasis that effect!!!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page