top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #11: Drafting, Editing, Developing

Updated: Nov 22, 2018

Please refer to Draft 2 found here!


I felt the third repetition in the beginning was too much. So instead, I have taken out the last repetition and used the arpeggiated chord technique on the second repetition. There is an addition of harmonics which gives a new yet suitable tone colour which I like. The harmonics in the introduction aren't constant so it's like a little surprise.



Now I have made some major changes to the first big body section of this piece. (bars 9-37) The reason behind the big change was due to the playability of the first draft. Yes, it would be playable but at a much slower tempo and even then, it would be difficult. This is due to the constant change in the harmonic line. The harmonic line wasn't a constant ascend and descend but at times, changed directions or even took an alberti style line. The constant change would have made it rather difficult to play. I instead created a new harmonic line which included more repetitions and more subtle and smooth changes. Due to the change in the harmonic line, I did change the melody line that plays on top but I have used ideas from the previous draft but changed a few of the notes. The contour is still much the same. Some of the rhythmic patterns are also repeated (e.g. dotted quaver pattern). The beginning of this section has however not changed as I like the gradual introduction of this section.


There is a subtle change and increase in texture and drama. I like these changes to be subtle; I don't want new rehearsal marks indicating that it is a new section, rather, (like I have reiterated many times by now) I want it to flow into each development and change. It begins when the figure below is repeated in the harmonic line. In this section, there is more interaction with the bass and more syncopation. The effect is essentially more movement but still with flow. I really really like the effect of the feel of 4/4 vs 6/8.




In the aleatoric inspired section (38-48), I actually decided to take out the bars with the octave chord and single note (as previously decided to be 'phrase breaks') as I thought just wasn't needed and did not contribute to the 'flow' feel.


The ending, I wanted to add a glissando with the pentatonic scale notes as it is rather beautiful and really signifies 'blue.' It is accompanied by harmonics before the opening chords are reintroduced.



I am quite happy with these new developments; it is definitely not finished yet but I do think it is close!


Get excited!!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page