top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

OC #1: Inspirations and Beginnings

Updated: Nov 20, 2018

For one of our CME (Composition in Music Education) assignments, we are asked to compose and original composition based on our "Baby Steps" (you can find mine under the 'Resources' tab! or click here!) model.

Composing isn't natural for everyone and it definitely is not for me!, but I am hoping that with my completed MBA model, I can used ideas generated from that to help in my composition.

First and foremost, I do have some composers in which I hope to use as my inspiration.

These include:

  • Olafur Arnald

  • Cinematic Orchestra

  • Johann Johannsson

  • Ludovico Einaudi

I absolutely love the works that these composers create. Have a listen to some of their pieces if you haven't before!


In terms of instrumentation, I am thinking of a string quartet? (I do have a background in playing the violin) Either an arrangement of:

  • Violin 1, Violin 2, Viola, Cello

  • Violin, Viola, Cello, Double Bass


Also, after listening to Bree Van Reyk's Light for the First Time, some ideas that I've picked up that I could possible use in my composition are:

  • Aleatoric music (left up to chance)

  • Mode?

  • Minimalist features, e.g. simple sonorities, drones

  • Experiment with rhythmic diminution and augmentation

  • Staggered entries


I will start writing some short ideas to present to Jim Coyle, one of our composition lecturers to gain some insight and feedback. Stay tuned!

3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page