top of page
  • Writer's pictureDorothy

"Baby Steps" #3: Melodic Material

Updated: Oct 30, 2018

For this step, students will require a notation software of some kind such as Sibelius, MuseScore, Noteflight. However, manuscript and pencil will work just fine, but I would suggest that students have a keyboard or an instrument with them if this is the case.


To create the melodic material for your composition, I will provide an example of structure for you to follow using the colours. Begin with one of the contrasting colours, so in this case, I will choose the cello. Then add in the transition colour; yellow (flute) and lastly the second contrasting colour, orange (violin). I will then have a mixture of all three colours, followed by the two contrasting colours together and ending with the transition colour. You can use this same structure or create any short pattern with the three colours you have chosen.


Now that we have our overall structure figured out, I am going to talk you through on creating melodic material inspired by Bree Van Reyk's 'Light for the First Time.' The melodic material in her piece is quite static, often focusing on minimal notes and quite static and step movement. Keeping this in mind, follow this quick video to see how I've composed just a few bars of some melodic material.


If you have any questions, feel free to send me an email or leave a comment and I'll be sure to help you out!


Happy composing!


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page